The museum of communism victims and uranium mining history
This is an authentically preserved prison area, which is unique in Central Europe. This was originally a prison camp for German war prisoners. Located in between former uranium mines, it served as a forced labour camp in 1949–1951. The site was used as a prison for political prisoners of the communist regime until 1961. The museum exhibitions feature instances of persecution after the communist takeover in February 1948. They include documents dealing with anticommunist resistance and provide information about the history of uranium mining in this area.
In 1947–1949 a labour camp was built by German war prisoners in the middle of the forest some three miles south east of Příbram (a town located 582 metres above sea level) on the borderlines between the village areas of Laškov, Lešetice and Zavržice. The camp was called „Vojna“ which is the name of a nearby hill at the foot of which it is located. Similar camps existed also in the Jáchymov and Slavkov areas. All these camps were used for the mining of strategically important uranium ores.
According to valid international treaties, the German prisoners of war had to be moved to Germany at the end of 1940s and at the beginning of 1950s. A problem arose as to how the vacated workplaces would be filled. After the communist takeover in 1948 and the subsequent changes in the law, the then leadership of the Czechoslovak state decided to use a large number of inmates from who from the middle of 1949 for forced labour, these peole were sent to the former Vojna war prisoner camp.