Hynka Kličky Place No. 293
261 01 Příbram VI - Březové Hory
Tel.: +420 318 626 307, +420 318 633 138
Fax: +420 318 622 566
April - October: Tuesday - Sunday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
November - March: Tuesday - Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Welcome to the Mining Museum at Březové Hory, the biggest mining museum in the Czech Republic. The museum is situated in the area of the historical Ševčin Mine (sightseeing area A) driven in 1813 on the site of a medieval mining pit dating from the 16th century. It is also situated on the original mining area of the Vojtěch Mine (sightseeing area C), which was founded in 1779, and the Anna Mine (sightseeing area B), which was driven in 1789. The museum's exhibits were built in the original mining working and administrative buldings and they show visitors the rich mining past of the region.
SIGHTSEEING AREA "A" Ševčin Mine:
The entrance building offers an exhibition called Traditional Crafts and Industry in the Příbram Region, and also a permanent exhibition Mining and Metallurgical Buildings of the Příbram Region in Historical Photographs. Visitors can learn about the economic, social and cultural development from the Middle Ages up to the 20th century. The life in this area was influenced by the dominating mine - metallurgical working activities on one hand and on the other hand by traditional crafts (such as wax manufacturing, carving, making nativity scenes, rosary - production, ring production etc.) together with small industry such as making pilgrimage goods.
These traditional economic activities were directly connected with the existence of the near - by holy place on the Holy Mountain. This architectural jewel of the Czech Baroque belongs among the foremost European places of pilgrimage and is dedicated to the Cult of the Virgin Mary. This is shown by the range of exhibits situated near the entrance to the museum.
The exhibition The History of Mining in the Příbram Region is situated in the building, the so-called Mining registration - room (registration of the miners who had gone down the pit), from 1880. It shows the local mining and metallurgy activities from the earliest times up to the present time, when mining activities were ended. The exploitation of the historical silver district and the extraction of uranium deposit after 1948 are documented here.
The most precious exhibits include the oldest documents about the beginning of the mining activity, the bronze objects from the period of the Celtic colonization, the oldest written document confirming the existence of Příbram (from 1216), and the first written document concerning local smelting works and mines (from 1311). The samples of medieval and present - day miner's working tools , miner's uniforms, etc. have been added to the exhibits. Information about the famous Mining Educational Establishment from 1849, later the Mining College and the Mining University is also here. The materials about the biggest mine catastrophe in the world up to that time in the Mary shaft in 1892 are noteworthy. The facts concerning the success of Rudné doly Příbram (Metal Mines of Příbram) and Uranové doly Příbram (Uranium Mines of Příbram) are also here. The visitors can see some exhibits from the fields of mining, measuring and rescue equipment and by samples of silver, lead and uranium ores. This exhibition of the museum also recalls the infamous part of the history of uranium mining, when political prisoners were forced inhumanely to work in the uranium mines after the revolution in February 1948.
Three other permanent exhibitions continue the subject of the previous topic. They are called The Development of Vertical Mining Transport in the Příbram Region, Drilling Equipment of the Příbram Mines and The Panorama of the Březové Hory Mining District. They are installed in the attractive authentic environment of the Ševčin shaft. Here visitors can see the mouth of the shaft with the cage used by miners. The pit - head gear, dating from 1879, was built in the style of industrial architecture of the 19th century (Malakoff). Because of its historical and architectural value, the pit - head gear was proposed to be introduced to the list of the technical monuments of UNESCO. The visitors to this building are also offered a unique view of the surroundings from the Ševčin tower gallery from the hight of 37 metres.
A rare mining compressor, which was constructed domestically and was used in the Březové Hory mining district, is situated in the neighbouring engine room.
In a former administrative building of the Ševčin shaft from 1885 the museum has prepared the units of the exhibitions which are thematically divided. These exhibitions include unique mineralogical and geological samples from the Březové Hory silver mining district, from uranium deposits and also from the Brdy iron area. The collection of silver minerals dominates the exhibition. It is supplemented by samples of old miner's working tools, tallow and oil miner's safety lamps, ceremonial miner's sticks, called "švancara", and home - made models of shafts, called "štufenverk". Visitors can also see a long-term exhibition about the paleontology of the Příbram region.
An uncommon exhibition project arose on the waste dump of the Ševčin shaft. Mining equipment, which was used in Rudné a Uranové doly Příbram (Metal and Uranium Mines of Příbram) in the second half of the 20th century, is installed on the mining railway track which is more than 180 m long.
From there visitors can visit an original miner's cottage with an exhibition documenting the life of a miner's family at the turn of the 19th century. There is also an exhibition of local folk toy and puppet making.
The tour includes walking underground in the Drkolnov Mine. The visitors can slide down 51m along a slip-way and then admire a unique technical equipment of the mine - a big water wheel which is 12.4 m long in its diameter.
SIGHTSEEING AREA "B" Anna Mine:
From the yard of the Anna shaft it is possible to go underground by little mining train to the 260 m long Prokop Adit from 1832, which leads to the mouth of the Prokop pit, which is the deepest shaft of the Březové Hory mining district (with the depth of 1600 m).
A technical monument - a steam winding engine from 1914 is one of the rarest exhibits of the Mining Museum Příbram. It is situated in the engine room of the historical Anna Mine, which was driven in 1789.
The newly opened tour is called "Wasserlauf" - Water Course Level and it makes the mining underground accessible. It was made between in the course of the 16th and 19th centuries. The access is possible by a mining lift.
SIGHTSEEING AREA "C" Vojtěch (Adalbert) Mine:
A shaft building of the Vojtěch (Adalbert) Mine is another technical sight, which was built in 1870 on the site of a pit sunk in 1779. The exhibition in this building is supplemented by a permanent exhibition dedicated to the achievement of the world's primacy in reaching the vertical depth of 1000 m in the Vojtěch (Adalbert) Mine at Březové Hory in 1875. In a near - by engine room there is another unique steam winding engine from 1889.
Going trough the Anna Water Tunnel is a popular attraction for the visitors. The adit was made in the 18th century, it is 330m long and it joins the Anna and the Vojtěch (Adalbert) Mines.
Visitors to the District Museum of Příbram - the Mining Museum at Březové Hory have an opportunity to buy valuable souvenirs, minerals, jewels made from precious or decorative stones, postcards and publications concerning mining and the region, etc.
Collecting of mineralogical and geological samples for a charge is organised for geologists, both amateurs and professionals, by the museum in its area on the waste dump of the Ševčin shaft.
The Chattels in the Charge of the Mining Museum, Příbram
The Vojna Memorial
The museum of victims of communist regime
The Museum of Rural Housing Extending
The museum of the life of country people
May and October: Saturday and Sunday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.
June - September: Tuesday - Sunday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
The museum of gold extraction and its processing
We are looking forward to your visit !
Good Luck !